Book Review: The Road to Becoming A Survivor by R.R. Hayden

TITLE: The Road to Becoming A Survivor
AUTHOR: R.R. Hayden
MY RATING: FOUR HEARTS! (♥♥♥♥♡)

The-Road-to-Becoming-a-Survivor-Cover

What's the story all about

Synopsis:

At 25 years old, River Hayden has experienced the low’s of life that few will ever see. A casualty of her family’s circumstances, of past boyfriends, of the hand that the universe dealt her, this auto-biography is Hayden’s chance at seeing her days as a victim end. Follow her story and how she was able to overcome her past, to pick up the pieces and find the life she has always wanted.

As part of our commitment to our readers, we should note that this story does contain content regarding sexual assault, abuse, drugs, and addiction. Trigger warnings apply.

©Goodreads: The Road to Becoming A Survivor by R.R. Hayden

About the author

river

“I’m 26 years old, female, my zodiac sign is Cancer, Chinese Zodiac is Snake… I love to read and write like just about everyone else on this website. I have a very sarcastic sense of humor. I haven’t graduated college but I’m working on that. It’s my dream to get my autobiography published which was finally accomplished September 23, 2015.

I’m now working on other novels that I’m hoping to one day get published as well. I have a day job that I enjoy, but hope to not need once I start getting more of my work published. That’s my ultimate goal: make a living out of what I love to do, and that is writing.”

©The Wacky World of River Hayden

Twitter: RiverHayden1
Facebook: RiverReiHayden

 

What's the story all about

Before anything else, I would like to thank Ms. River Hayden for giving me an Advanced-Reader-Copy in exchange for an honest and forthright review. 🙂

It is my first time to receive and read an autobiography ARC — Thanks to Ms. Hayden, you changed my views in life.

tumblr_inline_n4wmdqVphI1qh2kpf

Cheers!

“I wish there was more I could say, a different way to explain it, so that you could understand, but unfortunately, I cannot force anyone to change their opinions or state of mind. A belief is more difficult to change than an idea.

As what I have said earlier, it’s an autobiography. I was surprised because I never thought that this book would contain a lot of bleak memories and morbid experiences, endured by River herself. I admire her for being so strong and sturdy enough to go on with her life. I admire her because after everything that she has been through, from childhood until she’s a full-grown lady, she did not give up. She stumbled a hundred times, but she always stood up and fought back.

tumblr_lzpoojneGY1qc0b55

I am so sick of being afraid all the time. It’s definitely one of the reasons I’m prolonging the unveiling of the dark secrets in my life.”

Writing and publishing this book: The Road to Becoming a Survivor, is her own way of release — a release from her dark pasts, to steer clear from her demons, a break out from her dark and terrific experiences. I have read books about suicide, depression and the like, but never have I read a story of a sexually-abused girl, who has been through enough of family problems and such. It was like all the problems in the world were compiled into one, and she got a hold of it. I mean, fudge! This woman has it all! But, is her life miserable at all? At first, yes. But as day goes by, she survived it!

“Each individual has a story to tell and each and everyone of them is significant.

As for the writing part, the choice of words are very simple, not using any highfalutin language, so it’s easier to understand. It was written in a journal-entry style, which makes it MORE real. It makes you see the real person who wrote it, genuine thoughts were disclosed. This move was so bold and brave, because she had to write all of her darkest secrets, and let it all out in the open.

However, the flow of the story isn’t that definite (for me). There are some moments where I have no clue ‘what is going on,’ or ‘who is this person’ again, that I have to go back into certain pages so that I could get back on track. And other than that, I was hoping it would include more of personal advice, on how to deal with family issues, sexual-assaults, coping with friends, suicidal issues and all, with many catchy, inspiring quotes, but of course, since this is an autobiography, it was all about River herself. I was hoping for more, but still, this book is worth reading.

“I know I just need to learn from my mistakes. I say, learn, because if you’re not making any mistakes, you aren’t taking any risks. If you aren’t taking any risks then you aren’t living life because life is all about taking risks and having those memories and experiences.” 

tumblr_ml87q0tkrp1re3x32o1_

abyname

One thought on “Book Review: The Road to Becoming A Survivor by R.R. Hayden

Leave a Reply

