Book Review: Return To Me by Taylor W. Law

TITLE: return to me
AUTHOR: Taylor W. Law
MY RATING: a hearty five! (♥♥♥♥♥)

Screenshot_2015-10-13-18-30-49

What's the story all about

Synopsis:

Finding herself means losing everything she knows…

An empty-nested southern woman has her life turned on its head after an encounter with a young student from halfway around the world.

~A novella inspired by true events ~

Jill Edwards is just now learning the true definition of an empty nest. With her only child deployed in Iraq and her husband always gone on business, she finds herself often alone and awfully bored. Worse, it’s getting harder and harder for Jill to relate to the other housewives of Faithville, the little Christian college town she calls home.

Luckily, salvation comes in September.

Every year, Jill gets her only glimpse outside of Faithville when Faithville University welcomes its international students. This year, when one of these students moves in across the street, she’s surprised to find herself unusually drawn to the intriguing, athletic young man from half a world away.

As their unusual friendship develops, Jill discovers parts unknown within her soul – wild desires never before entertained. Awakening her long dormant hunger for life seems to be exactly the thrill she needs, but she soon finds herself on a journey that not only challenges her faith, but life as she knows it.

Return to Me is inspired by true events observed and experienced by the author during a pivotal tenure in rural North Carolina.

©Goodreads: Return To Me by Taylor Law

About the author

Taylor W. Law works in the television world in New York City. Storytelling has always been a core part of his job, but the notion of writing a book had never really crossed his mind.

His interest in writing was sparked after casually sharing a story with his co-workers in the office cafeteria. He was encouraged to write it down, and since then, hasn’t stopped writing.

Taylor’s first romance novel, Return to Me, is scheduled to launch early October.

When Taylor is not working, he enjoys cooking up a storm in his kitchen or hopping on a train down to North Carolina for some quiet time.”

A wise friend once told him: “A good story can heal a wounded past.”

©Get to know more about Taylor W. Law

Connect with Taylor Law on Facebook

Follow Taylor Law on Twitter

Follow Taylor Law on Instagram

What do i think

This debut novel written by Taylor Law, speaks of courage and strength to go on despite of the complicated problems and negative vibes that surrounds someone. I admire Taylor for writing a story like this. It made me feel sad and happy at the same time. It taught me a few things in life that I will never find out in some stories.

Here’s my short review:

I really don’t know why I’m still crying at this point. Maybe because I can still feel all the hardships and trials that Jill has experienced. I must say that she is a tough one, and I admire her character so much, thinking that all women should be strong like her and keep on fighting ’til they find what they call freedom and happiness.

“In fact, he looked, for lacked of better words… exotic”

It’s a fast-paced book, and a well-written story. You’ll get hooked as soon as you start reading it and you’ll never realize that the story will end soon enough 😦 (I always hate that part where I’m so close at the ending. Because really, I don’t want to end it right away).I must say that this book is worth reading and remembering. It has a promising plot that’ll touch every readers heart (especially women).

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.. -Proverbs 3:5”

I love how the protagonist (Jill Edwards) handled the situation, on how she dealt with her moral problems as a butcher’s knife deals with the meat. She’s a bold and brave one. Not all women can handle these kind of situation she has been through. Loving and caring for someone who doesn’t even appreciate it — hurts like hell. But what’s worst than that is finding out that ‘someone’ you love got the nerve to cheat on you, and the word hurt isn’t enough. It’s like your heart was being ripped out of your chest, torn into million pieces, and you don’t know how to go on with your life.

I feel like I am in Jill’s shoes, I could feel that betrayal, that tight grip in my lungs, that sorrow in my heart… my blood is boiling inside in my veins. Most women handle these kind of dilemmas by yelling or shouting or getting hysterical. But Jill isn’t. She’s suffered a great deal of heartbreak but then, she managed to put on a brave face. *girl power!* yay 😀

As for her husband Dave, he portrayed his character well enough — a cheater, unfaithful husband (and I’m still mad at him, right at this moment *sigh*). I was crestfallen when I found out what happened to Lena, and the events were happening rapidly (I told you that it’s a fast-paced book), that’s why there are no dull parts. And last but not the least, Sean. SEAN! I love Sean Teo! Even though he only had a few lines and appearances on the book, I’ll never ever forget his character. He’s so sweet and charming, and I considered him as Jill’s savior. ❤

“Don’t let go if you don’t want to fall.”

There are lots of words, phrases, and sentences to ponder. This book is just amazing! The way Taylor wrote the story is simple but has an effective description. The way he used adjectives makes the story even more appealing and absorbing. Just like how he describe the Coconut Cream pies, Jambalayas and lots of delicious recipes – makes my stomach rumble. There are also some sentences or let’s just say… some  quotes that’ll make me stop cold. And he even used some Bible verses. I am totally impressed. 🙂

“To find happiness, you have to experience sadness. To feel true love, you have to experience heartbreak. To succeed, you have to experience failure.”

This quote isn’t just about love. It can be about career or the paths we might take, it can be the journeys we might follow, it can be about developing friendships, and it also talks about life in particular. We’ll never know what will happen next, what life could bring, but as what Proverbs 3:5 said, that we should always trust the Lord, because I believe that He plans a better life ahead of us, and He knows what is best for us.

“If nothing good was forever, perhaps the same could be said for all the bad”

I am so grateful that Taylor Law gave me an ARC of his book. (thank you thank you!)

Return To Me will be launched on October 15! 🙂

You should read this! You’ll never regret it. 🙂

You may also check my Q&A portion with Taylor Law: Bookversations with TAYLOR W. LAW

abyname

Leave a Reply

